INL researcher named Asian American Engineer of the Year


IDAHO FALLS — Piyush Sabharwall, senior nuclear researcher at the Idaho National Laboratory, has been named Asian American Engineer of the Year for 2022. He is the sixth person from INL to win the award.

The awards have been given in the United States annually since 2002 as part of National Engineers Week to honor outstanding Asian American professionals in academia, government and industry. It is hosted by the Chinese Institute of Engineers/USA with the help of corporate and community sponsorships.

For over 17 years, New Delhi native Sabharwall has been recognized for his expertise in the fields of heat transfer, fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, nuclear reactor design and safety analysis. reactors. He has led several research projects in these areas and contributed to many others, serving as a trusted leader for the INL and its clients.

“Congratulations to Dr. Sabharwall for this prestigious recognition,” said Jess Gehin, INL Associate Laboratory Director for Nuclear Science and Technology. “It’s an exciting time in nuclear, and at INL, we’re thrilled to have researchers like him driving clean energy innovation forward.”

Sabharwall earned his doctorate in nuclear engineering from the University of Idaho in 2009 and joined INL around the same time. He played a key role in building and strengthening INL’s strategic partnerships with universities and in collaborating with representatives of other national laboratories. His leadership has helped advance science and technology strategy for INL and DOE and guide public and private sector researchers through complex regulatory landscapes.

Mentoring new talent, Sabharwall invited several nuclear engineering students to join him in his research at INL, guiding them forward in their career paths. He is an associate professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M University and an adjunct professor in the Department of Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences at the University of Michigan. He has served on graduate student committees at several universities.

He served as President of the Idaho Chapter of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers from 2016 to 2018, during which time she received the ASME Outstanding Chapter Award for the first time. His involvement with the American Nuclear Society includes working with former ANS President Steve Nesbit to form the Advanced Reactor Task Force.

As 2021-2022 President of the Idaho Chapter of the American Nuclear Society, Sabharwall has supported the group’s involvement in the community, volunteering with Habitat for Humanity and the Idaho Falls Soup Kitchen and participating in projects highway cleaning. He was president of the Idaho Falls Community Tennis Association in 2014, organizing tournaments and coaching elementary school kids. He has co-coached local youth football and baseball teams and is currently the head coach of a U-10 flag football team in Idaho Falls.

Sabharwall said he was “humbled and surprised” by the award. “It’s such an open ground, full of amazing people. I figured I had a quarter to one percent chance of winning. He will travel to Los Angeles to accept the award at a banquet scheduled for August 6.

Source link


Comments are closed.