Cork author Danielle McLaughlin shortlisted for €100,000 Dublin Literary Prize


Cork author Danielle McLaughlin has been shortlisted for the DUBLIN Literary Award 2022 – one of the most lucrative prizes in the literary world.

The winning author of the annual prize receives €100,000 – or, if the book has been translated, €75,000, with the remaining €25,000 going to the translator.

Donoughmore-based McLaughlin is the only Irish author to make the 2022 shortlist. Fellow Irish authors Megan Nolan, Sarah Crossan and Donal Ryan have been shortlisted for the award.

There are five other works nominated for the 2022 prize, including;

  • Remote Sympathy by Catherine Chidgey (New Zealand)
  • At night all the blood is black by David Diop (France)
  • The Death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Emezi (Nigeria)
  • Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson (Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg)
  • The Art of Losing by Alice Zeniter (France)
List of finalists for the Dublin Literary Award 2022.

Librarians and readers from some 40 public libraries around the world played a role in selecting nominations for this year’s DUBLIN Literary Award, with McLaughlin’s novel The Art of Falling the only debut novel to feature on the restricted list.

The former barrister has already landed a number of lucrative literary prizes for her short stories, including the Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award in 2019, worth £30,000 and the Windham-Campbell Prize, worth £165 $000 for his short story A Partial Light of the Saved.

A six-member international jury, including Dublin author Sinéad Moriarty and Cork-born English teacher Clíona Ní Ríordáin, will select the 27th winner of the DUBLIN Literary Prize – formerly known as the Impac Prize – to be announced by Dublin Mayor Alison Gilliland on May 19 as part of the opening day of the Dublin International Literature Festival.

Speaking when the shortlist was announced, Dublin City Librarian Mairéad Owens congratulated the jury, saying the shortlisted stories showcase “the breadth of human thought, endurance and the answer during life’s tense and difficult times”.

“This year’s shortlist is moving for readers, encouraging us to experience other realities. Every book deserves our attention.”

Previous recipients of the award include Mexican author Valeria Luiselli for Lost Children Archive, Anna Burns for Milkman and Colm Toibín’s The Master.


Comments are closed.